Short-term study visa

The short-term study route allows non-EEA nationals to come to the UK to undertake a course of study that does not exceed 6 months.

a) Nationals of the following countries are considered to be 'visa nationals' and are required to apply for a short-term study visa in advance of travelling to the UK:

Afghanistan	Georgia	Pakistan
Albania	Ghana	Peru
Algeria	Guinea	Philippines
Angola	Guinea Bissau	Qatar
Armenia	Guyana	Russia
Azerbaijan	Haiti	Rwanda
Bahrain	India	Sao Tome e Principe
Bangladesh	Indonesia	Saudi Arabia
Belarus	Iran	Senegal
Benin		Serbia
Bhutan	Iraq Ivory Coast	Sierra Leone
Bolivia	Jamaica	Somalia
	Jordan	South Africa
Bosnia Herzegovina		
Burkina Faso	Kazakhstan	South Sudan
Burma	Kenya	Sri Lanka
Burundi	Korea (North)	Sudan
Cambodia	Kosovo	Suriname
Cameroon	Kuwait	Swaziland
Cape Verde	Kyrgyzstan	Syria
Central African Republic	Laos	Taiwan*
Chad	Lebanon	Tajikistan
People's Republic of China*	Lesotho	Tanzania
Colombia	Liberia	Thailand
Comoros	Libya	Togo
Congo	Macedonia	Tunisia
Cuba	Madagascar	Turkey
Democratic Republic of the	Malawi	Turkmenistan
Congo	Mali	Uganda
Djibouti	Mauritania	Ukraine
Dominican Republic	Moldova	United Arabs Emirates
Ecuador	Mongolia	Uzbekistan
Egypt	Montenegro	Venezuela
Equatorial Guinea	Morocco	Vietnam
Eritrea	Mozambique	Yemen
Ethiopia	Nepal	Zambia
Fiji	Niger	Zimbabwe
Gabon	Nigeria	
Gambia	Oman	

*See exceptions on the next page

b) Nationals from countries not listed above are considered to be 'non-visa nationals' and entry to the UK can be requested under the short-term study route on arrival in the UK at the port of entry. Students will need to ensure they inform officials at Immigration Control that they are visiting the UK for study and show the letter issued by the University for this purpose. There is no fee attached to entry at the border under this route.

*The following nationals can request entry to the UK under the short-term study route on arrival in the UK at the port of entry and are not required to apply for a visa in advance:

a) nationals or citizens of the People's Republic of China who hold a passport issued by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region;

b) nationals or citizens of the People's Republic of China who hold a passport issued by the Macao Special Administrative Region;

c) nationals or citizens of Taiwan who hold a passport issued by Taiwan that includes in it the number of the identification card issued by the competent authority in Taiwan;

Students will need to ensure they inform officials at Immigration Control that they are visiting the UK for study and show the letter issued by the University for this purpose. There is no fee attached to entry at the border under this route.